Well the semester is winding down faster than expected which, in my case, is a good thing seeing as the past few months have been brutal. Anyhoo, this is something that came to my attention the other day and I thought it was pretty cool. So, for all you friends out there who are into graphic design, drawing, or photography, you might wanna read on…

Now I am the first to admit that I do in fact tend to react to the advertisements around me. After all, the reality is that we live in a consumer-based culture and ads are everywhere! That said, I rarely tend to promote the message of such visuals, but I can’t help myself in this case.

As I was standing at a urinal on the Loyola Campus last week going about my business, I couldn’t help but stare at, yes, you guessed it, an ad! (I tells ya, these guys are becoming more and more invasive). Anyhow, this ad was actually a message from the owner and distributor of the display cases, Newad, who is taking the initiative to actually showcase visual art work in it’s display cases.

Granted, I realize that we are talking about an ad agency whose sole priority is to ensure there is a steady and abundant flow of $$$, I still find this is a pretty neat initiative.

So here’s how it works: You submit your piece online. A jury will look over the pieces. Th best piece is then selected to be published in Newad’s indoor advertising network. The catch? Well, how about I let the fine print tell you:

By submitting any entry for the Contest, the participant grants NEWAD a worldwide, royalty-free right for an unlimited duration to display a screenshot of the submitted entry in association with this contest on the arthere.ca website, NIGHTLIFE Magazine’ website, as well as in its Indoor Advertising network across Canada and in its digital boards. Additionally, contestants hereby agree and acknowledge that NEWAD may, in its sole discretion, display the submitted entries, in whole or in part, distorted in character or form, on, but not limited to, the NEWAD website and the NEWAD Indoor Advertising network.

All entries submitted become the porperty of NEWAD. Incomplete entry forms will be deemed disqualified and will be rejected. NEWAD is not responsible for any lost, misdirected or delayed entries. There is also no responsibility or liabilityfor any potential entrant’s inability to access the official Contest submission function for contest entry. Entries received by telephone, fax, courier, personal delivery or any other method other than the official Contest website will not be accepted.

That said, if you have any work you’d like to have displayed, you can log on to Newad’s website at www.arthere.ca and find more details.

Special thanks to my good buddy Ping for reminding me of the URL.

