So here I am at work experiencing a slight dip in my workload and after being distracted by our receptionist’s light up shoes and adjusting a few picture frames that had fallen askew over 6 months ago I thought I’d give the ol’ paper a read. Having an interest in photography, I couldn’t help but stumble upon this one. Read on…

Turns out Kodak will stop making Kodachrome film as we know it by the end of 2009. For those of you that may not know, this is the same type of film stock that was used by photographer Steve McCurry, known for his picture titled “Afghan Girl” that made headlines when it was published in National Geographic.

Kodak is claiming that newer film stock allows for easier processing nowadays and also cites digital photography as a major factor in this decision. The last rolls of Kodachrome will be placed in the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film.

